European Union Information

European Union Prize for Literature 2012

The winners of the 2012 European Union Prize for Literature, which recognises the best new or emerging authors in Europe, were announced  on 9 October 2012 at the Frankfurt Book Fair by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth. The annual prize is one of the ways the EU supports authors, such […]

New collection by the Archive of European Integration at Pittsburg on development policy

The Archive of European Integration at Pittsburg announced that it holds the EU collection which used to be at the Delegation Office in Washington, DC, a virtually complete collection of documents. They have now scanned nearly every Offficial Publication of the EC, as well as institutional publications, on the topic of development policy including monographs – or […]

The first targeted recruitment campaign to find qualified Croatian nationals launches today!

The European Personnel Selection Office (EPSO) launches today  a recruitment competition for qualified Croatian nationals to fill a range of positions within the EU institutions,  as Croatia prepares to become the 28th EU Member State on 1 July 2013.  The closing date for applications is 16 October 2012. Further information is available on the EU Careers […]

Follow the 2012 State of the Union Address now!

Check out the State of the Union Address 2012 in Live streaming. Read also the whole speech. The 2011 State of the Union Address is available at the President Barroso’s website. Keep in mind that the EUI Library has been a European Documentation Centre (EDC) since 1976 and therefore holds a rich and multilingual collection of EU documents and official  […]

EU welcomes Russia’s WTO accession after 18 years of negotiations

On 22 August 2012, after 18 years of negotiations, Russia joined the World Trade Organisation (WTO) as its 156th member. The Working Party on the Accession of the Russian Federation was established on 16 June 1993. The Working Party completed its mandate on 10 November 2011, under the chairmanship of Ambassador Stefán Jóhannesson (Iceland). The […]