Call for a Guest Lecturer

Guest Lecturer Position at the SPS Summer Academy

The SPS Department seeks an established or emerging political scientist or sociologist from a Widening country* to deliver a guest lecture during the SPS Summer Academy. The lecture should be 1.5 hours in length and draw upon the guest lecturer’s ongoing research or published works that have been recognized in well-respected, peer-reviewed journals. The guest lecture’s theme should align with the SPS Summer Academy’s general theme (Politics and Society in Europe).

The Department is pleased to offer the guest lecturer accommodation (up to a maximum of 800 euros), travel expenses (up to a maximum of 500 euros), and meals from September 9th to September 13th, 2024. Additionally, the guest lecturer will have access to an office space and the EUI’s research facilities, as well as the opportunity to participate in all social events hosted by the SPS Summer Academy.

To apply for the guest lecturer position, interested candidates should submit their CV, a list of publications, and a summary of their intended lecture (limited to 1 page) in a single PDF to [email protected] (with [email protected] in copy). The summary should also include an explanation of how the proposed lecture fits into the SPS Summer Academy’s general theme (Politics and Society in Europe). Selection for the position will be based on academic excellence. We strongly encourage female scholars and individuals from underprivileged backgrounds to apply.

Deadline for applications: Monday, May 27, 2024

*The guest lectureship is sponsored by the EUI Widening Programme. This initiative, backed by contributions from the European Union and EUI Contracting States, is designed to strengthen internationalisation, competitiveness, and quality in research in the so-called Widening countries, and thus foster a more cohesive European Higher Education and Research area.

Scholars employed by universities in the following countries are eligible:

  • In the European Union: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.
  • Outside the European Union: Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Moldova, and Ukraine.